More than Me

“Every day is a journey, and the journey itself is home.” -Matsuo Basho

What does faith look like for young adults on a college campus? Why would The United Methodist Church send young adults committed to mission to placement sites in the United States, and to college campuses?

I won’t attempt to speak for college students everywhere, or for Global Ministries, or for The United Methodist Church. I will speak for why I found my own experience of campus ministry to be so deeply formational that I began to understand and accept my call to ordained ministry.

Campus ministry helped me begin to learn what John Wesley means when he talks about the need for personal and social holiness in the faithful. Bible study, prayer groups, walking the labyrinth; each of these opportunities helped me to grow as an individual in my faith, to understand how God is at work in my life, to know the love of Christ. Mission trips, Wesley Sunday, volunteer opportunities; each of these opportunities helped me to grow as a member of community in my faith, to understand how God is at work in those around me, to share the love of Christ.

Without my experience in campus ministry to remind me of how these aspects of faith can be lived out in the world, even in a piece of the world where faith is often ignored and sometimes mocked, I would not be where I am today. That is why I believe that The United Methodist Church sends young adults in mission, like me, to placement sites like college campuses in the United States. That is what a life of faith looks like on campus.

